The Civil Contingencies Act 2004 (CCA) divides responding organisations into two categories:

Category 1 Responders – the organisations at the core of the response

  • Emergency Services (Wiltshire Police, Wiltshire Fire & Rescue Service, South Western Ambulance Service)
  • Local Authorities (Wiltshire Council, Swindon Borough Council)
  • NHS England Area Team (Bath, Gloucestershire, Swindon & Wiltshire)
  • Public Health England
  • Environment Agency

Category 2 Responders – the 'co-operating bodies' that are less likely to be involved in the core planning work but may be heavily involved in incidents.

  • Utilities (gas, electric, water etc)
  • Telecommunication Companies
  • Transport
  • Health and Safety Executive

Other responders who are not legislated under the CCA but are vital members of the LRF, these include the military, voluntary sector, media outlets and community groups.

BBC News: